Restricting user access to certain reports

You can restrict user access to certain reporting features, or even disable certain reports entirely, if you wish.

For example, data protection 'best practice' would certainly encourage organisations to limit or manage the flow of personal information outside of your database, and not to collect information for or run reports on personal information that is outside the scope of the organisation's purposes and data protection policy.

By default, all of ChurchSuite's standard reports are enabled without any restrictions on export, printing or communication. However, it's easy for Administrators to enable/disable certain reports entirely, or to prevent exporting or report communication on a report-by-report basis.

Note: Any report restrictions will apply to all users. It is not currently possible to apply more granular restriction of report exports and communications; neither is it currently possible to restrict settings to just certain user(s) or user groups. The current intended functionality is simply to enable churches to better manage the flow of personal data outside of the organisation and to disable unwanted reporting functionality where that personal data is not being collected (as governed by the organisation's purposes set out in their Data Protection policy).

To manage your church's report settings, and logged in as an Administrator user, navigate to the Reports section of each module in turn. Select the Settings button in the top left corner of the page.

Within the Report Settings& pop-up window, for each report set whether the report is enabled or disabled - click the blue 'eye' icon. Disabling a report will disable that report for all other users.

For each report that is set visible/enabled, you can optionally set whether to disable exporting (click the grey 'download' icon) and/or communication action (click the yellow 'communications' icon).

Disabling report exports will hide the Download and Print report buttons on a report and prevent the report results from being exported outside of ChurchSuite (in CSV, PDF or printed format), although users can still filter and view the report results on screen, and (where applicable) add the people in the results to a Tag.

Disabling report communications will hide the Communicate actions on a report and prevent the report results from being sent to another user or contact. It will also prevent email and SMS communication actions to the people shown in the report results from the report page - although you can of course still communicate with those people from elsewhere in the platform, outside of the report - for example, from the Communication section of a module.

After saving your changes, any export and communication restrictions for a report are indicated visually in the reports section...

...and any disabled reports are visually distinguished and cease to be click-able.

Administrators can click Settings in the Reports section at any time to re-enable any previously disabled reports. Please note that report setting logs are not maintained.

Still need help? Contact ChurchSuite Contact ChurchSuite