Deleting events

In this article

What happens when an event is deleted?
Deleting an event
Deleting multiple events
Deleting an event sequence
Deleted events report

You can easily Cancel an event or edit the event and set the event's Status as Pending. However, if you no longer wish to retain the event (including its tickets, question, invites, signups and refunds), this article explains how to permanently delete events.

What happens when an event is deleted?

Deleting an event will remove it from your Calendar module entirely. The event will cease to be visible in the Calendar, in My ChurchSuite, Embed and Connect. The event is also deleted from iCal feeds that event was previously part of (iCal feeds are refreshed daily, so a deletion isn't instant). All event sign-ups, tickets, questions, and question responses are also deleted.

For sequence events where Sign-up to the sequence is enabled, deleting one date in the sequence will retain the tickets, questions, responses and signups against the remaining dates in the sequence, and this will continue until the final date in the event sequence is deleted; at which point all event information will be deleted.

When deleting an event or event sequence that has linked bookings, you can optionally delete the linked booking(s) too.

Deleting an event is irreversible - deleted is deleted - so exercise caution! Consider changing the event's status to cancelled or pending. If you simply wish to "cleanse" the list of sign-ups, consider using the batch actions on the Sign-Ups tab to select all sign-ups and then batch-delete them, while still retaining the historic event.

Deleting an event

When viewing an event in the Calendar module, you can delete it by simply click the Delete button in the top right hand corner of the event's "View" page. This will delete this single event instance.

Similar to above, when viewing the Events list in the Calendar module, you can delete an event by selecting Delete from the Action menu on the right-hand side of the list. This too will delete this single event instance.

In both the above methods, if the event is part of a sequence, the remaining dates in the sequence will be unaffected. The User is first asked to confirm the event is to be deleted. If the event has a linked booking, the option to delete the booking is also provided. Tick as appropriate and type I CONFIRM. Complete the process by clicking Delete. The event (optionally, the linked booking) and all associated data are deleted.

Deleting multiple events

When viewing the list of Events you can easily select and delete multiple events, perhaps using Search or Advanced Search to further filter the list to locate the events you wish to delete. Selected events to be deleted by ticking the box to the left of the event name and then select Delete from the batch Action menu.

The Delete confirmation lists the selected events with the option to Delete linked bookings for the selected events too. Type I CONFIRM and click Delete to complete the process. The selected events (optionally, the linked booking) and all associated data are deleted.

Deleting an event sequence

To delete multiple dates for an event sequence, or even the entire sequence, click through to the event "View" page for any date in the sequence and select View sequence from the In this sequence Action menu in the top right corner of the event page...

A filtered list of Events for just that sequence is displayed - note that the View is Future dates and the Status is 'any status', but you can easily switch to view Past dates or further filter by status if you wish. Using the checkbox next to each event in the sequence select the dates to be deleted (or select all), and then select Delete from the batch Action menu.

The Delete confirmation prompts you to confirm the deletion, with the option to also Delete linked booking(s). Type I CONFIRM and click Delete to complete the process. The selected events (optionally, the linked booking) and all associated data are deleted. However, if Sign up to the sequence has been enabled, tickets, sign-ups, custom questions and responses will be moved to the first remaining event in the sequence (even if in the past). If all events in the sequence are deleted, all tickets, sign-ups, custom questions and responses will be deleted too.

If you wish to delete Past events too, switch View from Future to Past events and repeat the above process of selecting past sequence event dates and using the Delete option on the batch Action menu.

Deleted events report

The Deleted Events report in the Calendar module's Reports section can be used to filter a list of events that have been previously deleted within a range of dates, including a note of the user that processed the deletion and the date and time of the deletion. Deleted events cannot be reinstated.

Still need help? Contact ChurchSuite Contact ChurchSuite