Using preset emails
In church life, there are certain emails that keep getting sent. Welcome emails to new visitors. Invitation emails to certain events. And what often happens is that they get rewritten over and over again. By using ChurchSuite's Preset emails functionality, you can avoid this fate!
Using preset emails
When you compose an email, there is a Preset Email option to the right of the Send email window. This option only appears if at least one Preset Email has been previously prepared. Selecting a Preset email from the drop-down list will copy it into the Send email "compose window", ready for you to further edit before sending, if you wish.
Preparing preset emails
You can easily create your own Preset emails. For administrators, click into the Presets within the Administrator menu. Here you will see a list of Presets that are visible to you...
...And for users, click into the Presets within the Users menu. Here you will see a list of Presets that are visible to you - either those set as visible to Just Me (your own presets) or those that are visible to you because you are a member of one or more User Groups.
To add a new Preset email click Add email.
You'll now see a blank Add email page ready for completion. Give your preset a Name that you'll easily recognise when you need to use it (e.g. Newcomer Dinner Invitation). Enter the From Name and From Email - these are used as the default sender any time the preset is set to be sent in the background, e.g. as a 'success' email in response to a successful submission of a My Details form. However, if the Preset is being sent through a module by a ChurchSuite user, it will use the From Name and From Email selected by the user in the email compose window, not the defaults set in the Preset.
Give your Preset email a suitable Subject. Now you can type your email message into the Contents section, perhaps using Merge Fields if you wish to use personalisation. You can also choose styling options from the Style drop-down list, choosing between Plain text, Branded Slimline, Branded Header and any of your other Brands (see related support article for adding Brands). You can save the Preset and preview it at any time to see what the styled email looks like.
A note about embedding images and attachments
ChurchSuite uses a third-party tool for uploading files and images that are to be attached or embedded into emails. Uploaded files are retained for 720 days (2 years) from the date of upload, after which time they are automatically deleted. This means you will need to re-upload images/files that you've embedded to attached to preset emails.
Note also the Visible to option. By default, Presets are visible to and available for use by All Users (not all church members, just users!). You can optionally restrict a Preset's visibility to Just Me (the author), or to one or more User Groups - see the related support article for further information on User Groups. Click Save when you are done.
The newly-created Preset is added to the list of Presets. The Search option can be used to quickly filter and find a particular Preset within a long list - as you type in the search box the list of matching results will auto-filter.
Editing preset emails, perhaps to amend the visibility or change the message content, works in just the same way. From the Presets list, simply select View or Edit from the cog actions drop-down menu on the right-hand side.
It's also possible to duplicate user-created presets (but not system presets) - select Duplicate from the cog actions menu.
Only user-created Presets can be deleted. When deleting, make sure the Preset being deleted isn't being used in your ChurchSuite modules, perhaps in a site that you don't have access to - for example, preset emails may be being used in Flows, or in a module's settings for 'success' notifications.
Subject to the visibility restriction settings, your newly created or edited preset email is now available for use throughout ChurchSuite anytime you're using the Send email option.
You can also create email Presets "on the fly" - when composing a message it's often the case that you want to be able to save the message so that it can be used again...
...Once you've typed your message - and before you click Preview Email, notice the Save option on the right-hand side. Clicking Save will save the preset exactly as it is, creating a new version with an added sequential number each time you click "Save".
Saved Presets added in this manner are created with default visibility set to Just Me i.e. they are private to you as the creator only. If you wish to make your Preset more widely visible, follow the instructions above to Edit your Preset email and amend the Visibility restriction setting. Presets are saved using the email Subject as the Preset Name. Click Manage to navigate into the Presets section.